Cheltenham Town striker Kion Etete on his time at the Robins, a MOTM performance against Gillingham and a return to Tottenham Hotspur

“I would have liked to have played more games if I’m being honest” – Cheltenham Town loanee Kion Etete regrets his lack of playing time at the League One club this season.

The 20-year-old joined Michael Duff’s side on loan from Tottenham Hotspur in the January transfer window. But stiff competition up front along with unfortunate injury troubles have limited his playing time for the Gloucestershire club.

However, the striker is still grateful for his time at the Robins. He said: “Everyone’s been really welcoming, both players and fan. I think it’s really helped me improve as a player and person at the same time.

“The games I have played I have enjoyed. We have won a lot of games and got a lot of points, so I think it’s been good.”

The ex-Notts County man has provided three goals and three assists in 11 league matches for the Robins this campaign, including a late header to earn his side a point in Friday’s 2-2 draw to Gillingham.

Etete also played a part in Callum Wright’s goal, and a strong all round performance earned the striker the man of the match award.

He said: “It felt really good to come back. To get a goal was good but we could’ve pushed on and won the game.

“I love all aspects of the game and I’d like to say I’m an all rounded player. When you’ve got good players to play with you can interchange, and it came off for Callum’s goal.

“You’d always take a win over a man of the match award at the end of the day, but on Monday hopefully we can put it right.”

READ MORE

Duff’s side travel to Lincoln on Monday, April 18, before they finish off a successful season against Bolton Wanderers and Cambridge United.

Etete will return to his parent club in the coming weeks, but he is uncertain where he will be playing his football next season.

He explained: “It’s all up in the air at the moment, it’s down to Tottenham. Things internally will decide what my goals are for next season.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started